Kathy Welsh

Kathy Welsh

Orange County Swears in New Legislators for 2018

L-R: Minority Leader Michael Paduch, Chairman of the Legislature Steve Brescia and Majority Leader Katie Bonelli at Friday’s Legislative meeting. Photo provided

GOSHEN – Orange County Deputy Clerk Kelly Eskew welcomed and swore in all of the County’s Legislators of whom eight were new to the Legislature during a brief ceremony on Friday at the Orange County Government Center.

Orange County Executive Steven M. Neuhaus attended the Legislative session.

“It was an honor to welcome these new public servants to County Government,” Neuhaus said. “I know that they will serve the residents of their respective Legislative Districts with distinction. The path of public service is never easy, but it is one that is very rewarding. Being able to help constituents navigate bureaucratic issues makes public service one the greatest careers that you can choose.”

The following Legislators were sworn into office on Friday: Kevindaryan Lujan, Joseph Minuta, Robert Sassi, Joel Sierra, Kathy Stegenga, Janet Sutherland, Laurie Tautel and Peter Tuohy. Orange County OC Legislators are elected to four-year terms which run concurrently with the County Executive, County Clerk and District Attorney.

The leadership of the Orange County Legislature for the 2018 session consists of Chairman Steve Brescia, Majority Leader Katie Bonelli, Minority Leader Michael Paduch and Independence Leader Michael Amo.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    © 2018 Hudson Valley News Network
    Always Local, Always Free.