Kathy Welsh

Kathy Welsh

Authors include, Rosemary Wells, Victoria Kann, Stephen Savage and many more.  

CHAPPAQUA – More than 70 renowned children’s book authors and illustrators have confirmed participation in this year’s Chappaqua Children’s Book Festival (CCBF), a grassroots, all-volunteer effort led by local residents.

Chappaqua Children's Book Festival Set for Oct.The Festival will take place on Saturday, Oct. 14, 2017 at Robert Bell Middle School in downtown Chappaqua, N.Y. from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Admission and parking are free and books will be available for sale.

Families will have the chance to interact with and have books signed by their favorite authors and illustrators, participate in arts and crafts activities, and enjoy food from local restaurants and food trucks.

“The Chappaqua Children’s Book Festival is a celebration of children, families, community, and literacy,” said Dawn Greenberg, a Chappaqua resident and one of the event’s volunteer organizers. “Our mission is to encourage, promote and celebrate the joy of reading, while fostering a love of books, stimulating imaginations and opening new worlds to our children. The festival offers a sampling of books for the entire family, from toddlers to teens.”

The first festival will be dedicated to the memory of Jean Craighead George, a Chappaqua resident until her death in 2012.  “It is important for us to honor such a prolific and important Chappaqua writer for our first children’s book festival,” said Greenburg.  “At the Festival, we will be displaying many of her books, which express her love and concern for the environment and all living things.”

CCBF will be the only children’s book festival in Westchester County and was inspired by the discontinued Book Day at Sunnyside, after Sunnyside announced the end of their fall event after 15 years.  

Authors/illustrators appearing include:

Tony Abbott author of the Secrets of Droon series

Lori Adams photographer of Little Science Books

Nora Raleigh Baskin author of Anything But Typical

Richard Brenner author of Worldwide Superstars

Elise Broach author of Masterpiece

Nick Bruel author/illustrator ofBad Kitty

Michael Buckley author of the Sisters Grimm series

Laurie Calkhoven author of Michael at the Invasion of France, 1943

Alyssa Capucilli author of the Biscuit series

Jennifer Castle, author of Beginning of After

Vicki Cobbauthor of Science Experiments You Can Eat

Bryan Collier illustrator of Dave the Potter

Kristi Cook author of Mirage

Jerry Craft creator of Mama’s Boyz

Jerry Davis author of Little Chicken’s Big Day

Katie Davis author of The Curse of Addy McMahon

Barbara Dee author of Trauma Queen

Bruce Degen illustrator of the Magic School Bus series

Laura Dower author of From the Files of Madison Finn series

Kate Feiffer author of No Go Sleep!

Howard Fine illustrator of Dinosauring

Betsy Franco Feeney illustrator of Genevieve’s Gift

Brittany Geragotelis author of What the Spell

Gary Golio author of When Bob met Woody

Dan Greenburg author of The Secrets of Dripping Fang series

J.C. Greenburg author of Andrew Lost series.

Charise Mericle Harper author/illustrator ofJust Grace series

Dean Hacohen author of Tuck Me In

Susan Hood author of Spike, the Mixed-up Monster

James Howe author of Bunnicula

Susan Jeffers author/illustrator My Pony

PG Kain author of Commercial Breaks series

Victoria Kann author/illustrator of Pinkalicious

Alan Katz author of Take Me Out of the Bathtub

Elizabeth Cody Kimmel author of Suddenly Supernatural series


Leslie Kimmelman author of The Three BULLY Goats

Gail Carson Levine author of Ella Enchanted

Fran Manushkin, author of The Belly Book

Jean Marzollo author of the I Spy series

Matthew McElligott author of Even Monsters Need a Haircut

Florence Minor author of If You Were a Penguin

Wendell Minor illustrator of The Eagles Are Back

Bernard Most author/illustrator of Dinosaur Cousins

Irene O’Garden author of The Scrubbly Bubbly Carwash

Helen Perelman author of the Candy Fairy series

Gloria Pinkney author of Back Home

Jerry Pinkney illustrator of Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

James Preller author of the Jigsaw Jones series

Susanna Reich author of Minette’s Feast

Michael Rex author/illustrator of Fangbone series

Alan Richardson author of Cupcakes, Cookies and Pie, Oh My!

Suejean Rim author/illustrator of Birdie’s Big Girl Shoes

Lizzy Rockwell author/illustrator of Hello Baby

Léna Roy author of Edges

Marisabina Russo, author of The Bunnies Are Not in Their Beds

Pat Schories illustrator of the Biscuit series

Roni Schotter author of All About Grandmas

Peter Sis author/illustrator of The Wall

Todd Strasser author of The Tardy Boys series

Karen Tack author of Hello, Cupcake!

Hudson Talbott author/illustrator of River of Dreams

Tim Tocher author of Bill Pennant, Babe Ruth and Me

Larry Tuxbury author of Benjamin Franklinstein Meets the Fright Brothers

Matt Van Fleet author/illustrator of Sniff!

Mara Van Fleet author/illustrator of Little Color Fairies

Jean Van Leeuwen author of the Amanda and Oliver Pig series

Eric Velasquez illustrator of Touch the Sky

Robin Wasserman author of The Cold Awakening trilogy

Howard Whitehouse author of The Strictest School in the World

The Robert Bell Middle School is directly across the street from the Chappaqua train station, which is a 50-minute train ride from Grand Central Terminal. GPS address: 108 Allen Place / Chappaqua Train Station.

The event will take place rain or shine. In the event of a rainy day, CCBF will be moved inside the school.

For more information, visit http://www.ccbfestival.org/


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    © 2017 Hudson Valley News Network
    Always Local, Always Free.