Kathy Welsh

Kathy Welsh

MILLBROOK  – The New York State Police will conduct a week-long enforcement initiative to crack down on speeding and aggressive drivers across the state. The Speed Week campaign runs today through June 13.

During this summer’s “Speed Week”, Troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement vehicles as part of the operation. The CITE vehicles allow Troopers to more easily identify motorists who are violating laws while driving. These vehicles blend in with every day traffic but are unmistakable as emergency vehicles once the emergency lighting is activated.

New York State Police Superintendent George P. Beach II said, “The goal of this campaign, and enforcement year round, is to reduce speed related crashes and improve safe travel for drivers and passengers on New York’s roads. Obeying the speed limit and driving defensively will reduce the number of fatal accidents and increase safety for everyone on the highway.”

Speeding is listed as a contributing factor in nearly one third of all fatal crashes in New York State. More than 42,000 people die as the result of traffic crashes each year on our nation’s highways and hundreds of thousands are seriously injured. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for people ages 3 to 33.

Speeding by all vehicle types, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week in addition to normal year-round enforcement. Troopers will also be watching for other traffic violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled up, and drivers that are violating New York’s Move Over law.

Last year, during the June 2016 Speed Week campaign, State Police issued more than 21,000 traffic tickets. More than 10,000 of the tickets were for speeding, more than 600 were for distracted driving, and more than 200 for violations of the Move Over law.

Fines for speeding on 55 mph highway or posted 65 mph zones

First Conviction

10 mph or less over the limit – min $45/max $150

11- 30 mph over the limit – min $90/max $300

31 mph or more over the limit – min $180/max $600

Second Conviction

10 mph or less over the limit – min $45/max $300

11 – 30 over the limit – min $90 /max $450

31 or more over the limit – min $180/max $750

Third Conviction

10 mph or less over the limit – min $45/max $525

11 – 30 over the limit – min $90 /max $675

31 or more over the limit – min $180/max $975

Court Surcharges

Town or village courts – $93

Other Courts (city traffic courts, etc.) – $88

Violation Point Structure

1-10 mph over limit = 3 points

11-20 mph over limit = 4 points

21 – 30 mph over limit = 6 points

30 – 40 mph over limit = 8 points

More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)

Funding for the Speed Week initiative is provided through a grant from the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee.

0
Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    © 2017 Hudson Valley News Network
    Always Local, Always Free.