Sean Maloney, Mike Gallagher, Tim Walz, and Paul Cook introduce Bipartisan National Purple Heart Hall of Honor Commemorative Coin Act.

Representatives 'Coin' a New Act to Honor Military

Purple Heart Hall of Honor

WASHINGTON — Representative Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY-18), Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8), Tim Walz (D-MN-1), and Paul Cook (R-CA-8) introduced the bipartisan National Purple Heart Call of Honor Commemorative Coin Act with 55 original co-sponsors. This legislation would honor the Purple Heart Hall of Honor with a commemorative coin provided by the U.S. Mint. Proceeds from this program will go to the Purple Heart Hall of Honor, Inc. for projects and programs at the National Purple Heart Hall of Honor that help preserve the memory and sacrifices of our service men and women who were wounded or killed in combat. The Hall of Honor is located in Rep. Maloney’s district in New Windsor, NY, where George Washington first founded the Purple Heart medal in 1782.

According to Representative Sean Patrick Maloney, “Many of our men and women in uniform come home with serious injuries, and the least we can do as a country is honor their sacrifice and preserve their memory for future generations. I’ve always been proud that we have the Hall in my district in New Windsor – on the same ground where George Washington created the medal 235 years ago – and it’s my honor to do my part in Congress to support Americans who served and sacrificed for the rest of us.”

Representative Mike Gallagher states, “During my time in the Marines Corps and two tours in Iraq, I witnessed firsthand brave men and women risk their lives for this country, many of whom were seriously wounded in battle or paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom. This act would be a small step in commemorating and honoring their brave service and sacrifice for future generations.”

Representatives 'Coin' a New Act to Honor MilitaryRepresentative Tim Walz, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs states, “There are few others who have sacrificed more than the our nation’s Purple Heart recipients. Since the honor’s incorporation into our military heritage in 1782 by George Washington, almost 2 million Purple Hearts have been awarded to American veterans and to those who selflessly given their lives in defense of our great nation. The service and sacrifice of the brave men and women who were wounded or killed in uniform should never be forgotten, which is why I am so proud to cosponsor this bipartisan legislation.”

“The National Purple Heart Hall of Honor recognizes the sacrifice of U.S. service members, dating all the way back to the Revolutionary War, who have earned the Purple Heart. I’m proud to support this bipartisan legislation which will honor and memorialize the sacrifices of these heroes so that future generations will never forget,” said Representative Paul Cook, Chair of the Congressional Purple Heart Caucus. Rep. Cook served as an infantry officer and retired after 26 years as a Colonel in the U.S. Marine Corps. During his time in combat, he was awarded the Bronze Star and two Purple Hearts.

“MOPH deeply thanks Representative Maloney for introducing this bill, which would serve as a fitting tribute to all those who were killed or wounded in defense of our Nation. Equally as important, it would provide critical funding for the National Purple Heart Hall of Honor, allowing it to continue its important mission of reminding the public of the cost of freedom,” said Hershel Gober, Military Order of the Purple Heart (MOPH), National Commander.

The National Purple Heat Hall of Honor Commemorative Coin Act (H.R.1683) authorizes the U.S. Treasury to mint $5 gold coins, $1 silver coins, and half-dollar clad coins at the United States Mint at West Point. They will be sold in limited quantities. After production costs are recouped by the U.S. Treasury, proceeds from sales of the coin will go to the National Purple Heart Hall of Honor to allow the organization to develop and renovate their facilities.

The Purple Heart is one of the oldest and most recognized American military medals, awarded to service members who were killed or wounded by enemy action. The National Purple Heart Hall of Honor’s mission is to collect and preserve the stories of Purple Heart recipients from all branches of service and across generations to ensure that all recipients are represented, and serves as a living memorial to their sacrifice. George Washington founded the purple heart in New Windsor, NY in 1782.

The National Purple Heart Hall of Honor Commemorative Coin Act has been endorsed by The Military Order of the Purple Heart, Armed Forces Marketing Council, American Military Retirees Association, American Military Society, AMVETS, Army Navy Union, Association of the United States Navy, Gold Star Wives of America, Inc., Korean War Veterans Foundation, Military Order of Foreign Wars, National Defense Committee, National Enlisted Reserve Association, Reserve Officers Association, Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors, The Flag and General Officers Network, The Retired Enlisted Association, and Vietnam Veterans of America.

In addition, the National Purple Heart Hall of Honor Commemorative Coin Act is co-sponsored by Representatives Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8), Timothy J. Walz (D-MN-1), Paul Cook (R-CA-8), Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY-9), Chellie Pingree (D-ME-1) Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-At Large), Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA-11), David N. Cicilline (D-RI-1), Walter B. Jones, Jr. (R-NC-3), Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL-9), Jose E. Serrano (D-NY-15), Doris O. Matsui (D-CA-6), Albio Sires (D-NJ-8), Nita M. Lowey (D-NY-17), Judy Chu (D-CA-27), Tom Cole (R-OK-4), Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA-2), Theodore E. Deutch (D-FL-22), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP-At Large), Mike Quigley (D-IL-5), Louise McIntosh Slaughter (D-NY-25), John Garamendi (D-CA-3), Julia Brownley (D-CA-26), Chris Collins (R-NY-27), Tim Ryan (D-OH-13), James A. Himes (D-CT-4), Daniel Webster (R-FL-11), Robin L. Kelly (D-IL-2), Sander M. Levin (D-MI-9), Raul Ruiz (D-CA-36), Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Mark Pocan (D-WI-2), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA-19), Tony Cardenas (D-CA-29), Mark Takano (D-CA-41), Kathleen M. Rice (D-NY-4); John B. Larson (D-CT-1); Daniel M. Donovan, Jr. (R-NY-11); Jim Cooper (D-TN-5); David Loebsack (D-IA-2); Hakeem S. Jeffries (D-NY-8); John J. Faso (R-NY-19); Kevin Cramer (R-ND-At Large); David G. Valadao (R-CA-21); Todd Rokita (R-IN-4); Ann M. Kuster (D-NH-2); Mike Thompson (D-CA-5); Thomas R. Suozzi (D-NY-3); Daniel T. Kildee (D-MI-5); Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ-6); Stacey E. Plaskett (D-VI-At Large); Elise M. Stefanik (R-NY-21); Richard E. Neal (D-MA-1); Claudia Tenney (R-NY-22); and Linda T. Sanchez (D-CA-38).


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    © 2018 Hudson Valley News Network
    Always Local, Always Free.